“That’s not quite kosher for me” – everyone has heard this saying at one time or another. It means that something is not right or is suspect. But the original meaning is different. The term “kosher” originally comes from the Jewish faith and stands for food that complies with the dietary commandments of the Torah. “Kosher” means something like “pure” or “permitted”.
Kosher: origin and meaning
The Jewish dietary laws, also called kashrut rules, roughly divide food into kosher, i.e., permitted, and non-kosher food (tree). In addition, observant Jews distinguish meaty (Vasari) from milky (chalawi) and neutral foods (parve).
The origin of this Jewish purity commandment lies in the millennia-old Torah, the holy scripture of the Jews. It corresponds to the Old Testament of the Bible and contains the five books of Moses. For example, the Torah prescribes not to prepare the kid in the mother’s milk. This is the basis for the separation of milky and meaty foods, both in preparation and consumption. The consequence: observance of time intervals between such dishes as well as separate dishes.
Another rule forbids observant Jews to consume blood. This is the reason for the controversial slaughtering method still practiced today: in kosher slaughtering, the animal is to be bled as completely as possible.
Cosher and non cosher products
Meat from mammals that have split hooves and are ruminants may be eaten, as may poultry meat. Pork, on the other hand, is forbidden. Dairy products are permitted but may not be cooked or eaten with meat. Fish with scales and fins are permitted, shellfish are forbidden. Fresh fruit and vegetables are allowed.
Those who want to live strictly according to the Jewish faith make sure that certain foods and products have been produced under rabbinical supervision.
This applies primarily to meat products, but also wine, cheese, milk, and eggs. The non cosher products are the meat of pigs, horses, camels, rodents, ostriches, birds of prey, catfish, pangasius, monkfish. Grape juice is also non cosher. Animal fats, gelatine, emulsifiers are also prohibited if you want to eat kosher. Let’s take a look at the tasty snack – Jewish chocolate cake Uga Koushik.
Jewish chocolate cake
Uga Koushit is the only chocolate cake that all children adore, and no children’s party in Israel is without it.
1 2/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup cocoa powder (for baking)
1 cup vegetable oil
1/2 package (125 ml) of sweetened whipped cream (or unsweetened or milk cream or 1/2 cup milk or orange juice/water)
1 cup flour + 1 tsp leavening agent (avkat afiya) or kemach tough
1 packet of dark chocolate
remaining 1/2 pack of sweet cream (steamed or evaporated, or 50g margarine)
Preheat the oven to 170ºC. In a bowl mix the butter, eggs, sugar, cocoa, and flour with the baking powder. Add the cream (or another liquid ingredient of your choice) and stir again. Pour the batter into a lightly greased baking dish and bake for 30-40 minutes, checking readiness with a wooden stick.
Then heat the remaining half of the cream in the microwave or a small saucepan. Break the chocolate into chunks, put it in a small bowl, and pour the very hot cream over the top. Mix into a smooth, glossy mass. Cover the warm (still hot) cake evenly with the still-hot chocolate mixture. Cover the cooled cake with clingfilm or foil and store it in the refrigerator. Decorate with colored sweets as desired. For a large family, we recommend making a double batch at once. This cake would be a perfect Jewish cake for many cases – if you are planning a family lunch or are looking for a tasty snack if you are watching a film or gambling on an online gambling platform.