Speaker Coughlin Secures Historic Fourth Term, Announces Assembly Democrats Senior Leadership Team for 221st Session

Members of the Assembly Democratic Caucus convened in Trenton today to welcome 20 new members and select the Senior Leadership Team for the 221st legislative session. Speaker Craig J. Coughlin was selected to serve a historic fourth term as Speaker of the New Jersey General Assembly.

The caucus convened following Tuesday’s election in which voters bucked historical trends, with Democrats successfully defending every seat in the Assembly and winning five additional seats for a 51-29 majority in the Assembly.

Last session, Speaker Coughlin made history as the first Democratic Assembly Speaker to serve three consecutive two-year terms. With today’s announcement, he sets a new record within the halls of the State House.

“I am grateful for the trust my Caucus members have placed in me by selecting me to serve a fourth term as Assembly Speaker,” said Speaker Coughlin (D-Middlesex). “Over the past six years, we have accomplished big things for the people of New Jersey. From delivering critical property tax relief to facing food insecurity head-on, I am proud of what we have achieved and thrilled that we get to continue our work to build a better future for our state and the 9.3 million people who live here.”

The caucus also selected Majority Leader Louis D. Greenwald (D-Camden, Burlington) to serve a seventh term in his leadership position. Majority Conference Leader Annette Quijano (D-Union) will begin a third term, and Assemblyman Benjie Wimberly (D-Bergen, Passaic) will start his second term as Speaker Pro Tempore.

“We focused on the issues people cared about last session, creating record property tax relief programs, lowering prescription drug costs, making child care more affordable, and standing up for safe communities and a woman’s right to choose,” said Speaker Coughlin. “We spent the last two years dealing with issues people talk about at the kitchen table. For the next two years, we plan to stay at the kitchen table. I look forward to spending the next two years working with the Assembly leadership team, the members of our caucus, our colleagues in the Legislature, and the Governor to build upon the foundation we have laid over the past several years.”

Reorganization of the 221st Legislative Session will take place on January 9, 2024, when all members will be sworn in and an official vote on leadership will take place.

This content, and any other content on TLS, may not be republished or reproduced without prior permission from TLS. Copying or reproducing our content is both against the law and against Halacha. To inquire about using our content, including videos or photos, email us at [email protected].

Stay up to date with our news alerts by following us on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

**Click here to join over 20,000 receiving our Whatsapp Status updates!**

**Click here to join the official TLS WhatsApp Community!**

Got a news tip? Email us at [email protected], Text 415-857-2667, or WhatsApp 609-661-8668.