PHOTOS: Ocean County Police Academy Graduates 47 New Officers in Lakewood

by Donna Flynn. Surrounded by family and friends and a cadre of law enforcement representatives, the 47 recruits making up the Ocean County Police Academy’s Basic Police Class #114 were celebrated during a graduation ceremony June 8 at Georgian Court University in Lakewood.

With the guidon retired at the beginning of the graduation ceremony, months of intensive training at the academy drew to a successful conclusion.

“This graduation marks a new beginning as you make your way into our communities and neighborhoods as peace officers,” said Ocean County Commissioner Virginia E. Haines, in addressing the graduates on behalf of the Board of Commissioners. “Today, as you graduate the Ocean County Police Academy you enter into a noble profession but one that is inherently dangerous and growing more difficult all the time.

“I want you to know that the Ocean County Board of Commissioners has the ultimate respect for what you do each and every day,” she said. “We know that your dedication and your actions will make a significant difference.”

Haines joined a host of law enforcement representatives on the dais including Ocean County Sheriff Michael G. Mastronardy, Ocean County Prosecutor Bradley D. Billhimer, Stafford Township Police Chief Thomas Dellane, President of the New Jersey Chiefs of Police Association, Barnegat Township Police Chief Keith Germain, President of the Ocean County Chiefs of Police Association who gave the keynote address, the Rev. James Occhipinti, and Ocean County Undersheriff Brian Klimakowski.

Recruits receiving awards during the ceremony were: Charles J. Hanson, Jackson Township Police Department, James J. Tracey Leadership Award; Royce J. Tucker, Point Pleasant Beach Police Department and Dylan M. Wisniewski, Seaside Heights Police Department, the PTC Merit Award Winners; Matthew W. Parke, Manalapan Township Police Department, High Academic Award; Hunter R. Simeon, Seaside Heights Police Department; High Overall Award and High Physical Fitness Award; Matthew C. Hamilton, Little Egg Harbor Township Police Department, High Marksmanship Award.

Attaining a perfect score in one or more of the three qualifying firearms rounds were Zachary Fritz, Michael Gajewski, Baylin Hall, Matthew Hamilton, James Komsa, Jonathan McLaughlin, Sean Phillips and Thomas Pietrulewicz.

“All of our recruits work hard to receive the badge of their respective police department,” said Ocean County Sheriff Michael G. Mastronardy, who oversees the police academy. “We are very proud of each of these new officers. We know they will serve the community and the County well.

“We deeply appreciate the work of all of our academy instructors,” Mastronardy said. “They bring years of experience to the classroom.”

Instructors recognized with the Instructor Award during the ceremony were Charles Webster, Ocean County Sheriff’s Department and Mark Fabbricatore, Bayonne Police Department.

Six of the new officers will be joining the Ocean County Sheriff’s Department.

The graduates and their respective police departments are: Ali T. Aziz, Nicholas J. Bilinski, Logan J. Carter, Orrin D. Falby, Zachary Fritz, Michael R. Gajewski, Brian P. Henry, Danek E. Namiotka, Thomas L. Pietrulewicz, Samuel G. Pradarits, Jesse M. Rund, Steven M. Schmitz, Keegan J. Shevlin, Royce J. Tucker, all Point Pleasant Beach Police Department; Hope D. Barina, Jorge I. Beltran Betancourt, Pierce J. Biczis, Charles H. Kremer, Tyler J. Lehr, Alex X. Rosario, Hunter R. Simeon, Saul Vargas, Dylan M. Wisniewski, all Seaside Heights Police Department.

And, Michael C. Bruno, Ryan M. Dean, Baylin J. Hall, James M. Komsa, Joseph L. Martinez, Johnathan K. McLaughlin, Andrew T. Mortensen, James T. Orozco, Katerina A. Tsarnas, all Seaside Park Police Department; Ryan R. Cheslock and Jared R. Prendeville, Mantoloking Police Department; Anthony J. D’Amico, Austin H. Goins, Victoria R. Spahr, Timothy J. Suppa, Cody A. Tchir, Joseph J. Vanderveen, all Ocean County Sheriff’s Department.

Also, Nicholas M. Dellaquila, Brick Township Police Department; Jacob R. Forlenza, Stafford Township Police Department; Matthew C. Hamilton, Little Egg Harbor Township Police Department; Charles J. Hanson, Jackson Township Police Department; Matthew W. Parke, Manalapan Township Police Department; Sean M. Phillips, Lavallette Police Department, and Robert M. Stowe, Point Pleasant Police Department.

This content, and any other content on TLS, may not be republished or reproduced without prior permission from TLS. Copying or reproducing our content is both against the law and against Halacha. To inquire about using our content, including videos or photos, email us at [email protected].

Stay up to date with our news alerts by following us on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

**Click here to join over 15,000 receiving our Whatsapp Status updates!**

**Click here to join the official TLS WhatsApp Community!**

Got a news tip? Email us at [email protected], Text 415-857-2667, or WhatsApp 609-661-8668.